All News


News & Events

News & Event

Four principals lead the way to educational excellence

Announcing winners of the 2017 R.E.B. Awards for Distinguished Educational Leadership

Each year, as spring weather takes hold and the school year winds down, the R.E.B Foundation and The Community Foundation are proud to announce the latest recipients of the R.E.B. Awards for Distinguished Educational Leadership. Four principals – one each from Chesterfield, Hanover, Henrico and Richmond Public Schools – are honored with grants of $15,000 in recognition of their demonstrated commitment to creating an exceptional learning environment through creative and engaging opportunities for their students, staff and community. Half of the award is designated for school projects, as outlined by the principal in their written proposal.

Congratulations to the 2017 winners:

Jennifer Rudd, Bellwood Elementary School, Chesterfield
To create a parent resource center within the school.

Caroline Harris, Oak Knoll Middle School, Hanover
To convert the traditional library into a “libratory” that includes designated space for hands-on learning, access to technology and flexible instruction space.

Melissa Halquist-Pruden, Glen Allen Elementary School, Henrico
To enhance the school’s outdoor learning space.

Indira Williams, Ginter Park Elementary School, Richmond
To create innovation stations to engage students in creative STEM activities.

The R.E.B. Awards for Distinguished Educational Leadership was created in 2004 as a complement to the R.E.B. Awards for Teaching Excellence, which has recognized more than 700 public school teachers from the metro Richmond region since 1988.

To learn how to nominate your favorite principal, check out the program overview.


PAST WINNERS (most recent listed first)


Sarah Fraher, Manchester Middle School

Deborah Marks, Clover Hill High School

Stephen Cunningham, Matoaca High School

Brenda Mayo, Cosby High School

Jaime Accashian, Chesterfield Community High School

Bessie Cooper, Bensley Elementary School

Peter Koste, Manchester High School

Joyce Lanier, Evergreen Elementary School

David Sovine, Monacan High School

John Titus, James River High School



Nancy Disharoon, Stonewall Jackson Middle School

Leah Finch, John M. Grandy Elementary School

Rhonda Epling, Pole Green Elementary School

Amy Woodword, Mechanicsville Elementary School

Debbie Arco, Chickahominy Middle School

S. Scott Baker, Chickahominy Middle School

Vincent D’Agostino, Atlee High School

Teresa Keck, Henry Clay Elementary School

Patricia Miller, Gandy Elementary School

Paul Vecchione, Patrick Henry High School



Katina Otey, Ridge Elementary School

Herbert Monroe, Lakeside Elementary School

Sharon Pope, Harry F. Byrd Middle School

Andrew Armstrong, John Rolfe Middle School

Elizabeth Armbruster, Hungary Creek Middle School

Pamela Bell, Jacob Adams Elementary School

Ingrid Grant, Ratcliff Elementary School

Tracie Omohundro, Varina High School

William Parker, Henrico High School

Aaron Spence, Deep Run High School



Kiwana Yates, Carver Elementary School

Rosalind Taylor, Woodville Elementary School

Brenda Phillips, John B. Cary Elementary School

Willie Bell, John Wythe High School

Thomas Beatty, former principal of Thompson Middle School

Beverly Britt, John Marshall High School

J. Austin Brown, Huguenot High School

David Hudson, Linwood Holton Elementary School

Michael Kight, Albert Hill Elementary School

Irene Williams, Fairfield Court Elementary School

Comments are closed.